Book Review: Dream On by Angie Hockman

Posted July 8, 2022 by WendyW in Book Review, bookblogger, Uncategorized / 45 Comments

Dream On
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

One Flame

by Angie Hockman
Publication Date July 5, 2022
Published by Simon and Schuster
Purchase Here Buy on Amazon US - Buy on Apple - Buy on Kobo - Buy on Google - Buy at Barnes and Noble - Buy on Waterstones - Buy on Audible - Buy on Amazon UK
Goodreads
Genres: Fiction / Humorous / General, Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy, Fiction / Women
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Reading Challenges: 20 Books of Summer 2022

***I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.***


In this fresh romantic comedy from the author of Shipped, heralded as an “absolutely sparkling debut” by Entertainment Weekly, a woman wakes up from a car accident with memories of a boyfriend she’s never met...only to run into him a year later. Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Rebecca Serle.

What would you do if your dream man turned out to be real?

When law grad Cass Walker wakes up after surviving a car accident, she is flooded with memories of a man named Devin. The only problem? Devin—as confirmed by family, friends, and doctors—doesn’t exist. Everything about him, from his coffee-brown eyes to the slightly crooked angle of his pinkie to his high-wattage charm, is a figment of Cass’s coma-addled imagination. Still, she can’t get him out of her head.

So when she happens upon the real Devin a year later in a Cleveland flower shop, she’s completely shocked. Even more surprising is that Devin actually believes her story, and despite his protective younger brother’s doubts, they soon embark on a real-life romance. With her dream man by her side and a new job at a prestigious law firm, Cass’s future seems perfect. But fate might have other plans...

From the beloved author of Shipped comes a magical and witty romantic comedy that explores what happens when our dreams come true—even when they’re not the ones we expect.


Dream On by Angie Hockman is a delightful romance with an interesting premise that I really enjoyed.  

Cass Walker just finished law school and on the way home from her bar exam, she’s in a terrible car accident that puts her in a coma for six days.  When she awakens from her coma, she looks around for her boyfriend, Devin. And she’s disappointed that he’s not there by her side.  Later she realizes that she doesn’t have a boyfriend named Devin, and never had a boyfriend named Devin.  And yet, her memories of him are very realistic.  After talking with her friends and family, and researching her phone, she finally realized he was never real, and just a dream she had in her coma. 

When she walks into a florist shop, she sees him and promptly faints.  Devon helps out his brother Perry in his flower shop.  When they do have a chance to talk, Devon confirms that he has never met her before.  They start up a friendship, but can the man of her dreams really become the man of her dreams?

The premise of this story was excellent.  I liked the way the author explained her dreams and how she imagined a boyfriend while in a coma.  The beginning of the book was fast-paced, and I just couldn’t wait to find out if Cass would ever meet the literal man of her dreams.  The book slowed down a bit in the middle with some miscommunications and a complex love triangle.  But, the end picked right up again and I was anxious to see how the happy couple resolves their differences. 

Cass’s growth throughout the book was lovely to see, and it wasn’t all about getting a man to make her happy.  She learned a lot about herself and what she really wants in life.  

I recommend Dream On to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a twist.    

I received a complimentary copy of this book.  The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

About Angie Hockman

Angie Hockman is a RWA Golden Heart Award® winner. Her professional background includes stints in law, education, and eco-tourism, but these days you can find her writing romantic stories, enjoying the outdoors with her family, or dreaming of her next travel adventure. Author of Shipped and Dream On, she lives in Northeast Ohio with her husband, young son, sweet old-lady cat, and an ornery golden retriever.

Book Challenges:

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

45 responses to “Book Review: Dream On by Angie Hockman

  1. What an interesting premise for a romance. I am glad to read that she grows in this story and it is not just about a man. I will have to see if my library has this one. Great review, Wendy.

  2. I’ve never read anything by Hockman but the first time I read the premise of this one I was putting it on hold at my library. I don’t love the sound of the miscommunication (my least favorite trope) but I’m still excited to read about Cass.

  3. I loved the sound of this one in your review until I got to your comment on the complex love triangle. I try to avoid those at all costs. I’m glad you still enjoyed this one.

  4. This sounds different and interesting plot. I’m already curious about the man she dreamt. Great review!

  5. A very unique and interesting premise. I don’t think I’ve come across anything like it. So glad it turned out well done too. This one I’ll look up for sure. Enjoyed reading your thoughts on it, Wendy🙂🙂

    • It was new to me also. I did enjoy it very much as I was anxious to find out how it would all work out.

  6. This scenario had me smiling. Of course it is fiction, but can you imagine how you would feel if something like that happened? Great review, Wendy. BTW, I am amazed at how you have kept up with your blog while vacationing. Good for you!

    • It is a fun book, and I enjoyed the premise very much. For my blogging on vacation, I did schedule quite a few posts ahead of time. I did all the top ten Tuesday posts and Can’t Wait Wednesdays ahead of time. And it’s kind of a working vacation anyway. My husband has to spend time working online, so that’s when I do blogging. We’re travelling very slowly, with a lot of downtime between sightseeing. So, it very doable.

  7. Jenny+McClinton

    This does sound like an interesting storyline, & sounds lovely. Great review 💕

  8. Great review Wendy! I’ve recently added this to my reading list as I really enjoy books where the characters show personal growth. Thanks for sharing about it.

  9. I had this on my lists for most anticipated releases. I’m even more excited now that I’ve read your review.

  10. ahhhh i’m so glad you enjoyed this book so much AND YOUR REVIEW IS ABSOLUTE PERFECTION LIKE ALWAYS!!! also THE COVER IS THE PRETTIEST THING EVER AND I LOVE IT?!!!